Ohio Auditors Form Working Group to Test Multi-county Real Estate Transaction System

February 26, 2019

The County Auditors’ Association of Ohio (CAAO) recently formed a working group to study how blockchain technology can be implemented at the county level to more effectively transfer property deeds.

“In recognition of the State of Ohio’s overall initiatives to modernize government, the goal of this working group is to consider how county auditors can be forward thinking to improve the taxpayer experience in conveying and transferring real property,” said CAAO President, Stark County Auditor Alan Harold. “For these types of projects to be successful and widely adopted, they require collaboration. County auditors are eager to roll up our sleeves as a group early on.”

The group, chaired by Warren County Auditor Matt Nolan, is comprised of 11 county auditors representing a diverse group of counties from across the state. In addition to Nolan, current members include: 

  • Delaware County Auditor George Kaitsa
  • Franklin County Auditor-Elect Michael Stinziano
  • Guernsey County Auditor Tony Brown
  • Henry County Auditor Kevin Garringer
  • Medina County Auditor Michael Kovack
  • Montgomery County Auditor Karl Keith
  • Perry County Auditor Drew Cannon
  • Stark County Auditor Alan Harold
  • Union County Auditor Andrea Weaver
  • Washington County Auditor Elect Matthew Livengood
  • Wayne County Auditor Jarra Underwood
  • Wyandot County Auditor George Kitzler

Contact ALTA at 202-296-3671 or communications@alta.org.