TLTA Elects New President, Honors Industry Leaders

June 28, 2018

The Texas Land Title Association (TLTA) recently elected a new president to serve as president for the coming year and also honored two professionals for their service to the title industry.

John Martin, president of Lone Star Title Company of El Paso, was named TLTA president, while Roland Love was named Title Person of the Year and Steve Streiff received the James H. Garst President’s Award. The Title Person of the Year award recognizes significant and longtime contributions to the title industry and the association. the James H. Garst President’s Award recognizes honors achievements of an individual who has shown outstanding service to the TLTA president during his year in office.

“I'm honored to welcome John into this important position at our organization,” said Leslie Midgley, Executive Vice President and CEO of TLTA. “For more than 25 years, John has been an active and dedicated member of TLTA, playing key roles on critical committees and most recently serving with distinction on our board. He brings extensive experience to the role of President and will be an outstanding leader for our organization over the next year.”

Martin has served TLTA in a variety of capacities, including a term as TLTA Board of Directors Agent Section Vice Chair. He also serves on the Federal Issues and Finance committees, and he is a member of the TLTAPAC Board of Trustees. Martin is the past President of the Independent Title Agents of Texas (ITAT). In addition, he currently serves as title agent member on the Board of Directors for the Texas Title Insurance Guaranty Association (TTIGA).

Martin’s title insurance industry career began in 1985. In 1999, he founded Lone Star Title Company of El Paso, Inc. In 2007, he founded Camino Real Abstract and Title. In February 2018, John and his son, Luke Martin, purchased a title company in Plainview, Texas that has been in existence since 1906. The title company is now known as Hale County Abstract & Title Company LP and services Hale, Castro and Swisher counties.

Love is president of the Texas Region for North American Title Company in Dallas. He has served as chair of the TLTA Legislative Committee for seven years, where he established himself as an industry advocate and legal expert among legislators and other decision-makers in the Texas Capitol.

“Roland’s devotion and service to the title industry is truly remarkable,” said Leslie Midgley, executive vice president and CEO of TLTA. “With his drive to serve, commitment to excellence and astute legal mind, Roland has distinguished himself during his tenure as Judiciary Committee Chair, chair of the Texas Land Title Institute, and vice chair of the TLTAPAC Board of Trustees. His contributions to our industry are too many to list, and we are extremely proud to present him with this much-deserved award.”

Streiff is vice president and Texas state counsel for Old Republic National Title Insurance Company. He currently serves as chair of the Legislative Committee and is past chair of the Regulatory Committee.

“TLTA is fortunate to have this extraordinary leader among our ranks,” said Chris Phillips, outgoing president of TLTA. “Steve is an unsung hero who selflessly shared his time and talents with our industry and me during my year as president of TLTA. More importantly, Steve’s industry and legal expertise, coupled with his collaborative approach and perpetually positive outlook, continue to win the respect of colleagues industry-wide year-after-year. I am honored to present Steve with this prestigious award.”

Contact ALTA at 202-296-3671 or