PLTA Honors Industry Leaders During Annual Convention

June 26, 2018

The Pennsylvania Land Title Association (PLTA) held its annual convention in historic Gettysburg, Pa., earlier this month and presented special awards to title professionals and a friend of the industry.

Philip S. Janny, CLTP, NTP was honored with the “Albert E. Pentecost Award,” which is given annually to an individual who has made the greatest contribution to the association during the preceding year. Janny served as president of PLTA from 2011-2012, chair of the Lehigh Valley Chapter of the PLTA and served on many committees. He currently serves on the OnLine Notary Ad Hoc Committee, the Predictable Recording Fees Ad Hoc Committee, the Legislative/Judicial and Education Committees of the PLTA. He is also a member of the American Land Title Association, where he currently serves on the Government Affairs Committee. In 2017, he was appointed to ALTA’s Online Notary Task Force.

Diana T. Sabol, CLTP was presented with the “James G. Schmidt Distinguished Service Award,” which is given annually to that individual who has earned the recognition and respect of his/her peers for substantial service and contributions to the welfare of the land title industry. Over the years, Sabol has worked with many committees of the PLTA to improve and strengthen the industry. After serving as chairperson of the Planning Committee for four years and of the Convention Committee, she became an officer of PLTA. She served as its 2010-2011 president. She is currently the chair of the Southeastern Chapter of PLTA. She has also been an active member of the Association of Title Examiners for more than 20 years, serving as both its vice president and president.

William “Bill” W. Rice III has the special distinction of receiving an award created in his honor. The Pennsylvania Land Title Institute, the educational arm of PLTA, created the "Rice Award for Excellence in Education" in recognition of his many contributions to the institute. It also commemorates the 40th anniversary of the Pennsylvania Land Title Institute. Rice has the additional distinction of being the first title agent to serve as president of the PLTA in 1994. In 1978, he helped found the Pennsylvania Land Title Institute and he continues to this day to serve as a trustee.

Sandra Kirk, retired analyst manager from the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue, was awarded the “Ronald W. Froggatt Friend of the Industry Award” for her contribution and betterment of the industry.

Contact ALTA at 202-296-3671 or