Housing finance advisors tack on new names

March 10, 2003

Fannie Mae adds 20 members to its National Advisory Council

Inman News Features

Mortgage purchase giant Fannie Mae this week named 20 new members to its National Advisory Council, which brings together representatives from every segment of the housing and mortgage finance industries and government to address housing finance issues.

The council, formed in 1971, has 466 members, including mortgage bankers, commercial bankers, investment banking executives, real estate agents, home builders, government and community leaders, housing authority officials and representatives of consumer groups.

Council members serve two-year terms, with approximately half of the membership rotating off at the end of each year.

The Chairman of the 2003 National Advisory Council is Kenneth Koranda, president of Mid America Bank, in Naperville, Ill. Koranda serves as a member of the Mortgage Bankers Association of America's board of directors and its Residential Board of Governors.

Council members meet three times a year with Fannie Mae's senior management to advise the corporation on housing and mortgage finance industry issues and the expansion of homeownership opportunities.

The following new members have been appointed to serve on the council until October 2003:

  • Gary Acosta, co-founder and president, SDF Realty Inc., San Diego;
  • David W. Bird, president, Heartwell Mortgage, Grand Rapids, Mich.;
  • Suzanne Boas, president, Consumer Credit Counseling Service of Greater Atlanta;
  • Hans Dekker, EVP, Baton Rouge Area Foundation, Baton Rouge, La.;
  • Kenneth Gamble, founder and chairman, Universal Community Homes, Philadelphia;
  • Robert Griffith, president and CEO, Irwin Mortgage Corp., Fishers, Ind.;
  • Terry J. Jorde, president and CEO, CountryBank USA, Cando, N.D.;
  • Charles J. Kovaleski, president, Attorneys' Title Insurance Fund, Orlando, Fla.;
  • Dale Leighty, chairman and president, First National Bank of Las Animas, Las Animas, Colo.

Also appointed were:

  • Rodrigo Lopez, president, AmeriSphere Multifamily Finance LLC, Omaha, Neb.;
  • Al Mansell, CEO, Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage, Salt Lake City;
  • Robert F. Nielsen, president, Shelter Properties, Reno, Nev.;
  • Doug Paul, vice chair, Credit Suisse First Boston, New York City;
  • Michael F. Petrie, CMB, president of P/R Mortgage & Investment Corp., Indianapolis;
  • Bobby Rayburn, president, Rayburn and Associates, Madison, Miss.;
  • John S. Skubik, SVP consumer finance, Nationwide;
  • Genevieve Smith, EVP, Home Loans and Insurance Services, Washington Mutual, Emeryville, Calif.;
  • Robert Strickland, executive director, Alabama Housing Finance Authority, Montgomery, Ala.;
  • Armand Cosenza Jr., CRMS, secretary/treasurer, Commonwealth Financial Services Inc., Richmond Heights, Ohio;
  • Tom Grudnowski, CEO, Fair, Isaac, Minneapolis.

Copyright Inman News Service

Contact ALTA at 202-296-3671 or communications@alta.org.