NAIC Elects New Leadership

October 28, 2010

The National Association of Commissioners elected its officers for 2011 during its meeting in Orlando, Fla.

Iowa Insurance Commissioner Susan E. Voss was elected as president. Voss was appointed Iowa insurance commissioner in 2005. Prior to that appointment, she served as Iowa's first deputy commissioner. She has held a number of different positions with state government, including assistant attorney general for the Iowa Department of Transportation, legal counsel to the state ombudsman, counsel to the Iowa Legislature in the area of taxation and economic development, and tax policy attorney for the Iowa Department of Revenue and Finance.

The association also named Florida Insurance Commissioner Kevin M. McCarty president-elect.

McCarty became Florida's first appointed insurance commissioner in January 2003. He is responsible for Florida's insurance market, including oversight of company solvency, policy forms and rates, market investigations, and new insurance business. He began his career in public service in 1988, becoming an expert in workers' compensation issues with the Florida Department of Labor and Employment Security.

Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner Kim Holland will become the association’s vice president. She became the first woman to be elected Oklahoma insurance commissioner in 2006. Holland is a former board member of the Oklahoma Health Care Authority and the Oklahoma State Employees Benefits Council.

Louisiana Insurance Commissioner James J. Donelon was named secretary-treasurer. He was appointed Louisiana insurance commissioner in 2006 and has been re-elected twice to the position. A retired state judge advocate for the Louisiana Army National Guard, Donelon’s career at the department of insurance includes serving as chief deputy commissioner and executive. He is also a former Parish council chairman and state representative where he chaired the Committee on Insurance.

The newly elected officers will assume their duties on Jan. 1.

Contact ALTA at 202-296-3671 or