ALTA® Government News

January 8, 2001

GOP Team In Place At New Financial Services Committee

The House leadership has finalized the list of Republican members that will be led by Chairman Michael G. Oxley (R-Findlay) at the newly created Financial Services Committee.

Regarding the committee assignments, Oxley said, "I?m excited about our team and the new assignment of promoting growth and prosperity in the financial services area. Also, I look forward to working with the minority members of the committee, once that list is finalized."

Oxley extended a special welcome to the seven freshman members of the Committee, and to the four Commerce Committee members who received waivers in order to serve on Financial Services.

GOP members of the newly created committee for this Congress are:

Michael G. Oxley (OH); James A. Leach (IA); Marge Roukema (NJ), Doug Bereuter (NE); Richard H. Baker (LA); Spencer Bachus (AL); Michael N. Castle (DE); Peter T. King (NY); Edward R. Royce (CA); Frank D. Lucas (OK); Robert W. Ney (OH); Bob Barr (GA); Sue W. Kelly (NY); Ron Paul (TX); Paul E. Gillmor (OH); Christopher Cox (CA); Dave Weldon (FL); Jim Ryun (KS); Bob Riley (AL); Steven C. LaTourette (OH); Donald A. Manzullo (IL); Walter B. Jones (NC); Doug Ose (CA); Judy Biggert (IL); Mark Green (WI); Patrick J. Toomey (PA); Christopher Shays (CT); John B.Shadegg (AZ); Vito Fossella (NY); Gary G. Miller (CA); Eric Cantor (VA); Feliz J. Grucci, Jr. (NY); Melissa A. Hart (PA); Shelley Moore Capito (WV); Mike Ferguson (NJ); Mike Rogers (MI); and Patrick J. Tiberi (OH).

Contact ALTA at 202-296-3671 or

SoftPro, based in Raleigh, NC, offers a mature suite of products, designed specifically for the closing and title industry. Our mission is to serve our client base, with best-in-class products and services. Our products are modular so we don't force you to buy anything you don't need. You can always add on as your business grows. Unlike other software companies, we view the sale as the beginning of the relationship rather than the end. North American Title Insurance Company (NATIC) is a seasoned title insurance underwriter, helping title agents to achieve their individual business goals for more than 50 years. Today, the company conducts real estate settlement services in 39 states and the District of Columbia through a network of experienced, independent agents.